TMA 2014 Family Convention

I was at the 2014 Annual Family Convention that our homeschool organized on Thursday. I missed last year’s, so I made sure I made it to this one.

There were a couple of announcements made. To my local readers interested in homeschooling the TMA way, you may want to take note if you missed the event. Incidentally, I used to be a hardworking note-taker in my younger years but as you age and have kids, you learn to just focus on what’s important or relevant to you and sort of keep the rest in the periphery.

So if you’re looking for a transcript of the event, I’m sorry to disappoint you, I don’t have that. I do recommend you contact TMA directly for more information about the hows, whats and whens of things.

Now, to the meat of the matter….

1. Tuition fee increase! For obvious reasons, this is on the top of my list. Any increase is painful and fervently wished away if possible. The reason behind the increase eased the pain somewhat but, well, a price increase is still….a price increase.

2. Hybrid homeschool program…now that is something to look forward to, especially since the tuition fee increase is going to this new program. A new school I’ve been eyeing for my youngest has recently opened (CCF Life Academy). It’s core values are what I wanted my son (and other children) to grow up with. I’ve mentioned before that we’re on the homeschool journey on a year-by-year basis, and every year we go stand at that fork on the road where we ask ourselves and pray if this is still the path for us. Well,  the answer to the prayer was to continue the journey and the decision to also homeschool my youngest was made.

The hybrid program will be a partnership with this new school in the sense that my children can take some classes at this school. There is also a plan to get more digital and techie with the curriculum, and again involving this school. I hope it will be a help to my family.

3. More electives offered this year including cub-scouting! This was encouraging to hear, and of course, I took note of it. There’s no time like the present to homeschool our children, with all these opportunities opening up to them.

Now here’s my take on all of this.

First of all, ouch, honestly, to the tuition fee increase. I mean who wouldn’t feel it? But I understand, and I trust the LORD to provide for everything as He has done so far since we started our journey.

Second, I’m excited and cautious at the same time about the hybrid program. Details are sketchy and so it’s hard to see how it will exactly impact or benefit my family. I am sure the LORD has something awesome planned for us and so we trust Him to take care of us through this new path.

Third, we have yet to take advantage of all that is currently offered to our children for enrichment, talent development and skill building. Like any parent, I want my children to join this class, take those lessons and get busy busy busy. It’s so easy to get carried away with the wishing and planning for their future.

But as I lay down the night afterwards and thought about all that my children can potentially get involved with, I remembered that it’s not the activities that make the child or the person – it’s their relationship with God and within the family that are crucial to their successfully becoming who they were meant by God to be. I’m not saying it’s wrong to be involved with all those activities – all of them have benefits and I salute the families who have the energy to do it.

As my children’s primary teacher and Parent, I need to remember the bottom line, which is to teach my children to love God with all their hearts, with all their souls and with all their strength. I can do this, by the grace of God, even if we don’t take part in all that I want for them to do or have.

It sure would be nice, though, if we could. Yet who knows what God has planned for us?

For I know what plans I have in mind for you,’ says ADONAI,‘plans for well-being, not for bad things; so that you can have hope and a future.

JEREMIAH 29:11

Complete Jewish Bible (CJB) 

Copyright © 1998 by David H. Stern. All rights reserved.

 

UPDATE: JANUARY 31, 2015

It’s 11 months after I first wrote this. I wanted to update my readers who are searching for information that CCF Life Academy has an FB page where the school has posted tuition fees, application requirements and other FAQ’s parents typically ask for. Go on over to the FB page or call or visit the school:

Telephone Number: 8669983 to 84

Address: Frontera Verde Drive, Ortigas Ave. cor C5, Ugong, Pasig City

Hours:  Mon – Fri: 8:00 am – 4:00 pm, Sat: 8:00 am – 11:00 am

4 thoughts on “TMA 2014 Family Convention”

  1. Hi. I stumbled upon your blog. I am currently homeschooling my 7 yr old son. May I know if you are satisfied with life academy? What are your thoughts? I’m also considering VCIS. I’m just hesitant to try Life academy as we don’t prefer mandarin subject. Hope to hear from you soon.

    1. Hi Mich, thanks so much for dropping by and apologies for the late reply. We are not with Life Academy but my family and I wanted to call our homeschool “Living Life Academy – Independent Homeschool” because we are learning about living life. We have friends who homeschool with VCIS and they shared good experiences with it. I suggest joining the FB group “Homeschoolers in the Philippines” and “DIY – Homeschoolers and Unschoolers” if you need more information. The members are helpful and there is a lot of information in the group that can help you with homeschooling. Thanks again and God bless you and your family in your homeschooling journey ~ Mary

Reply or Comment Here...

