Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

Abandoned

Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

On my family’s trips to my Beloved’s home we would pass through the former US Naval Repair Base in the area. And we would always pass by this old yet still stately pair on the way home. In low tide and high tide, those boats remained. I’ve always wondered about their names, what they do, where they’ve been, who owns them and why they’re “hiding” in that little river, looking abandoned and forlorn.

Somehow, once we’re past them, they slip out of my mind. But one thing I have always wanted to do was to take a picture of them.

I got the chance to do this last year. As usual I was in the front passenger seat, I didn’t even get down the car. I just rolled the window down and took the shot from where I was sitting.

If ships could talk, the way they do in Cars and Planes, I can imagine the conversations these two would be having with each other, of days gone by and of the future ahead, the weather and the tides, and that lady with the camera…

Click the link above to see other interpretations of “Abandoned” and to join the Weekly Photo Challenge.

8 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned”

  1. This was a fun theme. I enjoyed seeing all the interpretations from people around the world. Thanks for sharing yours and thanks for following My Awakening Life. May we meet again soon on these pages.

  2. I enjoyed your musings on this. I also noticed your home school links at the bottom of the page. We home schooled too, through high school. Many blessing on your endeavors!

    janet

    1. Thanks Janet! Whew, homeschooling through high school isn’t something I want to even think about just yet. We’re just taking it one quarter, one school year at a time, and that’s all I can handle for now. I am sure it must have been quite a journey for you and your family!

      Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful weekend!

      Mary

Reply or Comment Here...

