Book Review: Turnaround at Home

Turnaround at Home

Giving a Stronger Spiritual Legacy Than You Received

Authors: Jack Hibbs, Lisa Hibbs, Kurt Bruner

This book was such a good read. As I turned the pages, I found myself nodding my head and telling myself that this is so spot-on.  From the beginning chapters I knew this was what I needed for my family. I easily resonated with the authors’ testimonies. The grace of God is evident in their lives. The way God changed them, molded them and used them to influence other parents and individuals is such an inspiration. I truly enjoyed the honesty of their testimonies – it was the real thing. Not only that, I liked that they didn’t dwell on the past but moved on to their present – and this was what gave me hope for my own family – that I can change, for the better.

Turnaround at Home teaches “intentional parenting”, another point that I resonated with. This concept is one that is part of what my home church teaches and fully supports. Intentional parenting takes an active role of “discipling” children in the context of the home. Too often, children are left to learn about God and the Bible through sources other than the parents. Jack and Lisa Hibbs share in the book how this has come about. They also point the effects of leaving children’s spiritual growth to “chance” and how this can be changed to bring about a better spiritual future for children. If you want to know how to do that, I strongly recommend that you get the book and read it.

As encouraging as their stories were, I did find some thoughts, concepts and stories were often repeated. Some sections could have been rewritten to better drive home the point (or points) being made.

Turnaround at Home is also a practical book. While somewhat lengthy for a busy parent to read, I found that taking the time to explain concepts helped me understand better what “spiritual heritage” meant. I also found the self-evaluation exercises very useful and easy to do.  These were not too hard to understand and the results were surprisingly accurate! In addition, the exercises and suggestions to help the reader map out an action plan to “turnaround the home” were simple to understand and do.  For busy parents, this means a lot. Being constantly bombarded with self-help tips from everywhere can be overwhelming and the book breaks this down into a simple action plan.

The book was generally optimistic despite the gargantuan challenge it tackles. I would caution the reader to expect change to happen through a process – as this was not well emphasized in the book. As we humans tend to do, we expect ourselves to become bright and new in a snap of a finger after following this or that action plan. The book doesn’t promise immediate change but it also doesn’t say out loud that the “turnaround at home” takes some time. After all, our God is One who works through processes, especially when it comes to the human heart, and this is something the reader should keep in mind when going through the exercises in the book.

The last chapter, addressed to pastors, and the Appendix, seemed to be out of place for a book addressed to parents. Reading through these sections helped me understand the challenge to pastors and church leaders for creating a culture of intentional families. On the other hand, talking about programs and projects, integration of these and maximizing resources sounded so overwhelming. It was anticlimactic to read the Appendix. It might be better off as a separate study guide or supplement to this book.

Turnaround At Home is a book for families anywhere in the world needing guidance to stop the cycle of the broken and hurting past. It is a useful guide to help them create a spiritual legacy for children that is grounded on the Scriptures, and that will give families hope and bright future. It is timely, practical and a very good read. It is a book we need today.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a free copy of the eBook “Turnaround at Home” through Net Galley. I have not been compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Turnaround at Home”

  1. “As we humans tend to do, we expect ourselves to become bright and new in a snap of a finger after following this or that action plan.” Right! Great reminder! I’m blessed my mom gave me “her spiritual legacy.” And I can never be grateful enough! It is SO important to pass on that God is our anchor! What a great idea (and title) for a book!

    1. What a wonderful Mom you have! I don’t have as positive a legacy as I wanted but I’m grateful nonetheless for what I got because it made me realize what is important in the grand scheme of things. Indeed it was a great book.

Reply or Comment Here...

