Grateful Friday October 18 2013

Hola my friends! It’s the end of the week again, and time has certainly flown.

A lot has happened this week, it hasn’t been quiet in my part of the world. If you’ve been tuning in to your international news, or local news if you live in the same country, then you would know about the big earthquake that destroyed many parts of towns and popular tourist destinations on three big islands south of where I live.

The whole event was a wake-up call for my family. My Beloved and I asked ourselves how well prepared we were if an earthquake as strong as the one that hit those islands hit us. There’s really not much you can do when an earthquake strikes. We’ve felt mild ones before. It’s easy to say that we’ve prepared as much as we can but did we really know what to do if a big one hits us? Its a question I wish I didn’t have to answer but the reality is it can happen to us anytime. So, we came up with a plan in case a big earthquake does happen and we talked to the children about it. Every night we go through the “plan” just so we become familiar with it.

The earthquake news left me unsettled. My heart sank as I watched the numbers of those who died increase daily. It is such a tragedy. Yet, I know that our God is sovereign. I know that all things happen for a purpose, though we may not know it now. In the midst of the troubles this event has brought, we draw comfort from the Word of God and the Lord Jesus himself:

Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.

John 14:1

and this:

So do not fear, for I am with you;

do not be dismayed, for I am your God.

Isaiah 41:10

And so my dear friends and readers, if this week has not gone as you planned or expected, may you draw comfort from the same God who promised us a peace that is beyond understanding and comparison, a peace that comes from knowing and trusting in Jesus Christ our Lord.

I end this post with another picture of the sunset at Subic Bay. I liked the way the pictures came out. I wasn’t sure if they would be any good as I had no tripod at the time and hadn’t used the camera for several weeks. I hope this photo keeps you warm and cosy over the next few days.

May our Almighty and Loving God give you and your families a peaceful weekend,

6 thoughts on “Grateful Friday October 18 2013”

  1. I saw the news and thought of all of the bloggers and readers there and my heart broke. Then I thought of all of the people there I’ve never heard of, and I sent up a prayerful thought asking for help for all.

    1. Hi Colleen!

      Thank you for your prayers. We’re still praying for them but we’re slowly seeing signs of the people working towards getting life back to normal. It’s positive and inspirational. I’m just sad for the the lives that were lost and all those lovely old churches destroyed. But I’m sure there’s a purpose for it all. Hope your week was a good one!

Reply or Comment Here...

