Review: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap

The Persecution of Mildred DunlapThe Persecution of Mildred Dunlap by Paulette Mahurin

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Note: This review first appeared on Goodreads.

The book’s title intrigued me, as did the author, so I read it. Family duties kept me from finishing the book right away but when I got back to it I read it in a couple of hours. I enjoyed the book very much that I couldn’t put it down till I was done.

The author explores issues that are as relevant and important today as it was in the setting of the story, namely sexuality, faith and morality. The characters were real and well-developed within the story. As a challenge to the author, perhaps a prequel and/or a sequel could be written to explore the other facets of the characters. They were interesting enough to me to want to get to know them better. The plot was well-paced – there was not a dull moment – and the ending was unexpected.

As a fictional work on homosexuality and faith the book offers the evangelical Christian reader a glimpse into the inner thoughts of persons in that relationship which can help in understanding the challenges they face. The perspectives on this subject that the book offers should also be read in light of the Bible’s admonition to love one another as the Christian reader has first been loved by Christ himself.

The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap was altogether a very good read.

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

13 thoughts on “Review: The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap”

  1. You’ve given such a lovely review. I too have read this book and think highly of the work the author has of this author. I hadn’t thought about a prequel or sequel because the main gist of the story is in this book. Do you hear that, Paulette? Your audience want MORE.

    1. I know, the book is complete but it was written so well I wondered about the why and whereafter of the characters. There’s definitely room for more of them….

  2. An excellent read! A book I myself thoroughly enjoyed and also rated with 5 stars.
    Tackling serious and profound themes: prejudice, narrow-mindedness and the power of love to help cure old wounds The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap is a special book from a special person!
    Real food for thought.
    My kudos to the author for this great book and for her dedication to our four-legged friends – dogs that have no masters.
    Carmen
    http://shadowspastmystery.blogspot.ro/

Reply or Comment Here...

