The Chatter Blog’s Mamo Bars

This is a foodie post….

I picked up this recipe over at The Chatter Blog (all credits go to the wonderful blogger there) many weeks ago. The recipe itself was in a comment to a post in that blog, which I had a hard time finding to link to in this post. I just did a copy-paste-print job when I got the recipe; the original comment/recipe is at the end of this post.

Here’s my version:

Ingredients:

(About) 1 cup honey

(About) 1 cup peanut butter

1 cup Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder

(About) 1/2 cup corn flakes

(About) 3/4cup instant oatmeal (Allergen note: Oatmeal used was not gluten-free. I’m currently reviewing an eBook about gluten- and dairy-free meals and this dish was done before said review started.)

A few drops of olive oil (for the baking dish)

I had more than a cup of raisins the days before I made this but my youngest son managed to finish it all  off before I could make the Mamo bars, it would have been great to have them…

The ingredients are just estimates because I didn’t want to use so many different cups to measure each and have to wash them all up later, too.

How to make it:

  1. Boil the honey then add peanut butter.
  2. Stir the mixture until it looks creamy. My peanut butter had a few nuts in it so it didn’t look too smooth, which was what the original recipe called for.
  3. Add the oatmeal and corn flakes. Then add the cocoa powder. (This is where I changed it just to make the sure the oatmeal gets cooked). You can add the raisins or whatever else you might want to put in now. You got to do this bit quickly because it gets really sticky and hard.
  4. Smooth out the mixture in a baking pan or dish. I didn’t spray the dish I used because I didn’t have any on hand. Instead I used a little olive oil so it wouldn’t stick.
  5. I let the mixture cool – this is where I finally followed the original recipe. But I think you need to cut it into chunks before it cools completely. I discovered it couldn’t be sliced very easily once hardened.

Prepare thyself. This yummy sweet treat will give your jaws (and teeth) a work-out!

The whole family loved it and has asked me to make it again. I hope you’ll enjoy it, too.

DSC_4241

My next dish to try in the coming weeks:  Mustang Koji’s Tiramisu Mechanic Style….

And this is the original Comment-Recipe from The Chatter Blog:

Everything is “1 CUP”. But I double it and put the mixture in a cake pan. Cool it. Then cut it.

1 cup honey
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup cacao powder
1 cup of other stuff to add (craisins, rasisins, whatever you like)

Bring honey to a boil. Add peanut butter. Stir until smooth and creamy. Turn off heat and quickly add cacao powder. Stir it in, mixing in other ingredients at the same time is easier.

It gets VERY stiff.

Make sure the pan is sprayed. Add the mixture. Smooth it out. Let cool.

When it is cool I always flip on to a cutting board. Wipe off the spray with a paper towel. Then cut in to little chunks.

Easy peasy! 

Thank you so much Colleen for sharing this!

15 thoughts on “The Chatter Blog’s Mamo Bars”

Reply or Comment Here...

