Silent Sunrise (a T.O.L. post)

…the land…is a land of mountains and valleys that drinks rain from heaven. It is a land the LORD your God cares for; the eyes of the LORD your God are continually on it from the beginning of the year to its end…

Deuteronomy 11:11-12

I watched the sunrise this morning. This huge cloud hid it from my sight till it was rather late and really really painfully bright – the way it usually shines in the tropics. As I waited for the sun I remembered these verses I had encountered from my Bible reading. Moses was talking about Israel then but I couldn’t help think of all the other lands in developing worlds like my own that depend less on “man-made” systems of irrigation and more on the bounties of nature, and God, to provide it with water.

As I stood up there on my vantage point (it’s the same spot I stake out for my lunar watching) I watched the city wake up around me, the sunlight shaking everything awake and the noise of the city becoming louder and louder until the silent sunrise was completely gone and the still morning had broken.

I haven’t done my Grateful Fridays or Unplugged Sundays for about 2 weeks, maybe more. So I will just say that I am happy that I am now well, thankful to modern medicine that I can return to my daily juggling act with the different hats I wear. I am also thankful to all the bloggers for their kindness and their well-wishes during my illness  – you know who you are – and may our Lord bless you more 🙂

I am also grateful that we are getting a little relief from the oppressive summer heat with early or timely onset of the first rains. Even though I am saddened by all the tragedies reported on the international news channels, I know that the LORD really does have his eyes on everything and that He is ultimately in control.

I decided not to join the Weekly Photo Challenge this week, despite my 2013 goal of posting weekly or something like that. I don’t have anything suitable to enter anyways and what I really want to do is to catch up on reading blogs. After almost 2 weeks of quiet I found I had enjoyed the time away from the PC. This blogging thing can be quite addictive, if not properly managed; the children and Beloved are getting very vocal that they miss me…

So I’ll be visiting more and posting less, and enjoying more photography and stories from other bloggers in the coming days.

I pray all of you will have a blessed weekend.

Thanks for reading and stopping by.

PS – While waiting for the sunrise, I took a shot at the (still) full moon over the city. Here it is:

Full Moon over Pasig

13 thoughts on “Silent Sunrise (a T.O.L. post)”

Reply or Comment Here...

