(Supposedly an) Unplugged Sunday

Notice: This is a rambling TOL post. You may choose to detour to my Photography category instead if you prefer, it’s been updated with my “Angono Petroglyphs” and “Motion” entry with plenty of cool shots if I may say so myself…

**************************************************************

Woke up early this morning to take my daughter to the hospital for some tests and an X-ray. She’s getting tested to rule out hormonal imbalance problems. Before Wednesday last week I hadn’t heard of DHEAS and 17 OHP or that bone ageing can be determined by taking an x-ray of your most-used hand…

We needed to get there before 8 a.m. because the hospital had to send out one of the blood samples to another lab to do the 17 OHP test. I was surprised because I thought, being an internationally-recognized and accredited hospital catering to the international and business community living in our neck of the woods, it would be able to do everything. It appears not.

It took two tries before the lab technician could get her blood and she shed a lot of tears because it hurt. I promised her a treat for being so brave – French fries and OJ from McDonald’s across the street (I know, I know, I’m a bad mommy). It was also breakfast for her because I had to wake her up early. We needed to get to another lab, the one closer to home, to repeat another test that her doctor suspected had come from a contaminated specimen. So she ate it in the car while I drove. It’s a good thing today is Sunday so I didn’t have to contend with crazy drivers hogging the road.

I’m resisting the urge to look up what those tests should reveal…I don’t want to worry needlessly if there’s awful stuff about it. Our doctor did explain it some, just enough for me to understand but left out parts that she knew would worry me. To be honest, I didn’t want to know some of it also. For now, ignorance is bliss, at least, for me.

The tough part is the waiting. Always the waiting. It will be a week before the 17 OHP test results will be available. That means 1 whole week of wondering and waiting.

I’m just trusting God with all that is happening, praying that all the tests will be negative or normal, and that what I see happening is just a normal part of growing up.

************************************************************************

For who is God besides the LORD?

And who is the Rock except our God?

It is God who arms me with strength

and makes my way perfect.

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;

he enables me to stand on the heights.

Psalm 18: 31-33   NIV

7 thoughts on “(Supposedly an) Unplugged Sunday”

Reply or Comment Here...

