The Sunday Post: Plains

Plains in many areas are important for agriculture because where the soils were deposited as sediments they may be deep and fertile, and the flatness facilitates mechanization of crop production; or because they support grasslands which provide good grazing for livestock.

This is the theme for this week’s The Sunday Post hosted by Jakesprinter. A bit of a review of geography, this one.

I was happily planning a trip up the nearby mountains to get a panoramic view of Metro Manila (a floodplain) when my Beloved burst my little bubble. He reminded me that I had several “plains” photographs already. Of course, he was the one who would be driving and wasn’t up to the “challenge” to drive this weekend…and be my assistant as we searched for a perfect viewing point  to take my photos. It’s our first quiet Saturday after 3 crazy weeks, after all. Well, we did go up the mountains but not for Jake’s challenge…

So, after rummaging in my archives, I found a couple of old photos that I thought might fit…

A little background to the photos: These were taken in Pampanga and Bataan, two provinces that lie on what we call the Central Plains of Luzon (that’s the biggest island in my part of the world). These plains were crucial because this was where the people on the plains and some folk in Metro Manila got their rice. Nowadays, a lot of it is imported, which is a shame. We should be able to grow our own basic food…Anyways, here they are:

The Roads on the Plains

 

Aeta Village – Fort Stotsenberg – Clarkfield Special Economic Zone – Stotsenberg Park

 

Join us at  Jakesprinter’s Sunday Post, a weekly themed challenge for old and new photographers, digital artists and other creative folk. Here’s a look at what fellow bloggers created for the Sunday Post:

 

4 thoughts on “The Sunday Post: Plains”

  1. Hi ,Maria! I loved reading about your country , in spite of the difficulties you listed in your post. I appreciate the way you face problems and I look forward to knowing more about your part of the world……

Reply or Comment Here...

