A Day in the Life of this Homeschooling Momma: Movies I Teach (Part 2)

Part 2 continues my list of the Top 7 Movies that we use in our homeschool and what we’ve gotten out of them. The last 3 movies are:

Wall-E   The movie featuring the adorable garbage collector-slash-compactor Wall-E of Buy and Large showed the importance of reducing waste and recycling what we can.  There were a lot of “what if” discussions that sprouted as well as questions of robots or machines actually falling in love like humans do in the movies.

Finding Nemo  offered an excellent visual introduction to ocean/coral reef habitats, wildlife and environmental conservation. The movie also allowed a good talk on obedience, acceptance, forgiveness and father-son relationships.

And last but not least, the recent Brave made it to our list mainly because of the archery and Highland games scenes. After we watched the movie the children wanted bows and arrows of their own. I was worried that I would have to find someone to teach them archery. DD kept humming the Scottish-inspired music and they would repeat their favorite line from the movie, the one where Merida’s father Fergus mimics her to get the queen talking (“I-don’t-want-to-get-married-I-would-rather-shoot-arrows-into-the-sunset”). In contrast to Finding Nemo, this one focused on the mother-daughter relationship but the lessons were generally the same: obedience, acceptance, forgiveness and the importance of communication in a relationship. Of course DD also loved the costumes. Brave offered an excellent introduction to the discussion of sorcery, history and geography of Scotland.

These movies have been useful because they pay excellent attention to detail and are mostly funny (except perhaps for The Transformers).  One of the criteria I use when we choose a movie for the children is that it must be Funny. If we’re not laughing by the first 20 minutes then the movie gets shelved, literally. The other yardstick I use is that it shouldn’t be scary. My older 2 children like Monsters Inc but my youngest gets scared watching it sometimes. Also, if there’s a lot of crying involved (on my part, and yes I do cry if the story gets to me) we try not to watch the same movie too often.

Here’s the list again:

1. Mulan

2. Kung Fu Panda (1 and 2 but they count as 1 movie)

3. How To Train Your Dragon

4. The Transformers Trilogy and 1986 animated movie

5. Wall-E

6. Finding Nemo

7. Brave

 

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of this Homeschooling Momma: Movies I Teach (Part 2)”

    1. lol…my youngest doesn’t like it as much as the older kids do, I think he finds it boring sometimes – but he likes the action and the song at the end by David Bowie, I don’t know why 🙂 I was looking at Wall-E from an educational perspective, waste management, conservation and the like can be hard to understand and Wall-E makes it simple for them and for me 🙂 I love Finding Nemo (I think I’m like Marlin in a lot of ways) and Monster Inc is just a riot act from start to finish but still too scary sometimes for a 4 year old.

Reply or Comment Here...

