“Every day, from here to there, funny things are everywhere.”

Today is gone. Today was fun.

Tomorrow is another one.

Every day,

from here to there,

funny things are everywhere.”

from Dr. Seuss, “One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish”**

I read this book, written over 50 years ago, to my 5-year-old son before bedtime tonight.

Those lines I quoted reminded me of the fun my children and I had today. In the morning, we played a “sort the toys”  game to help me get rid of clutter in the children’s rooms and organize their toys. It took us the whole morning but we had fun playing with the toys and sorting them out. Then in the afternoon we blew, chased and popped bubbles. Then the kids rode their bikes, ran and chased each other, all the while shouting and laughing out loud to their hearts’ content. Of course, I couldn’t be my usual serious and quiet self all that time. I had to be a real dork not to laugh with them!

I realized at the end of the day that this was the “abundant life” Jesus wanted me to have. How simple it is to have it, and here I was complicating it with my “To Do” list thinking that I will be happy if I got at least one of the things done.

Today is gone. Today was fun.

Tomorrow is another one.

Every day, 

from here to there,

funny things are everywhere...they are indeed, I just needed to open my eyes…

** Quote from “One fish, two fish, red fish, blue fish” By Dr. Seuss

Copyright by Theodor S. Geisel, Beginner Books Inc.

Reply or Comment Here...

