Thursday Tidbit…Halo-Halo!

Literally meaning “mix-mix” in English, Halo-Halo, is THE summer treat of all summer treats.

It’s got leche flan, ube halaya, pinipig, gulaman, sago, evaporated milk, ube ice-cream, sweet beans, langka (jackfruit) and crushed ice in it. I was so eager to dive into my halo-halo that I forgot to take a picture of it before I “halo-halo”ed the ingredients.

I remember when I was a kid I would shave ice from ice blocks using a handheld ice-shaver, to make the “crushed ice” for the halo-halo that my Mama would make. I don’t remember how old I was but I do remember getting my hands sore from all the scraping and then numbed from the cold of the ice block. That was the old-fashioned way of making it.

I don’t make halo-halo at home because some of the ingredients are tricky to cook, like the leche flan and the ube halaya. If you don’t get them right, they’re going to affect the whole taste and experience of the halo-halo. And I admit, I don’t make them as good as they should be for halo-halo…

The best halo-halo I’ve ever had is at Chowking’s. I’ve tried the roadside stands, some fancy restaurants and even some home-made halo-halo. Some are good, some not so good, some are just money-making ice-cups that are bland. Most of them skimp on the ingredients. None are as complete or as yummy, at least for me, as Chowking’s Halo-halo.

If you get the chance to visit my Tropical Home, I hope you’ll take some time to try Chowking’s halo-halo. It’s  available in most of their stores and definitely worth the treat.

2 thoughts on “Thursday Tidbit…Halo-Halo!”

Reply or Comment Here...

