What We Thought Of…”Raising Great Kids” by Cloud and Townsend

Cover of "Raising Great Kids"
Cover of Raising Great Kids

After several months, I finally finished “Raising Great Kids” by Dr. Henry Cloudand Dr. John Townsend. I don’t normally take that long to read a book. The reason I took this long was because it was packed with sensible information about children, parents and the child-rearing/parenting process and I wanted to digest it. The book is recommended in a homeschooling primer I encountered in the beginning of our homeschooling journey.

I listed the words that I thought best described the book for me:

1. Useful (for the present and future)

2. Practical (doesn’t need special techniques or training)

3. Do-able (any parent can do what it recommends now)

4. Truthful (doesn’t show you life through rose-colored glasses but the truth)

5. Bible-based (it provides a verifiable basis for what the authors say)

Now, I don’t want to get into a lengthy post about this book. I do want to share the top 3 quotes from the book (and why I chose them):

3. (page 16) Anyone can obey with a police officer around, but ultimately, only people of character obey when no one is around to tell them what to do.

For my preschoolers, obedience is the key lesson I want them to learn at this stage of their development. Without obedience (grounded in love) the parenting experience will be a battle of wills instead of a teaching-then-guiding process to help the child become a healthy adult.

2. (page 18) Some parenting experts emphasize that if you do certain things, your child will turn out right. But, there are no guarantees that children will turn out right because children have free will. You are responsible for the process, but God is in charge of the results.

I must always remember that my children are a gift from God. They are not here to make me happy, mad or sad (although they do all that to me). They are here because God has a plan for them and will use them for His own purposes. I am just a “process manager”. Ultimately, God is in control of everything. My job is to trust Him, to obey and to do the best that I can (to raise them), which leads me to…

1. (page 29) Good kids are a product of the real goal of parenting: “mature character”. When children grow up with mature character, they are able to take their place as adults in the world and function properly in all areas of life. Character growth is the main goal of child rearing.

I might also add…that my personal goal for parenting is for my children to have “mature character” that loves God more than anything else (Deuteronomy 6:5).

How I pray that my children will grow up with this mature character and a heart that loves the LORD their God with all their heart, with all their soul and with all their mind. (Matthew 22:37).

Overall score for the book: Excellent Read!!

One thought on “What We Thought Of…”Raising Great Kids” by Cloud and Townsend”

Reply or Comment Here...

