Shark Eggs

Sharks are interesting, especially to kids, and my Son-man loves them. These shark eggs really astounded me. I never thought that sharks could look that tiny, cute even. But at the same time, I could feel their predatory instincts coming through even as babies. The animal world is truly fascinating. These eggs were on display at Manila Ocean Park.

I’m not sure what to think about seeing these and the other animals in captivity. I know that many feel that it isn’t right to even put animals on display (what more babies??). The movie “Happy Feet” comes to mind here. Ultimately, in that movie, a purpose was served. People became aware that their actions were impacting negatively on the animals living far away from them. I’m not sure how much of that visit, and this display of shark eggs, will be remembered by my children. I only hope that, besides the fun time we had together, they will also remember this and the other animals displayed when it is their turn to take on the mantle of responsibility as stewards of the Earth.

2 thoughts on “Shark Eggs”

Reply or Comment Here...

